The wisdom of Turtle

Grief is not a process, its not something linear, it has a beginning but no defined middle or end.
You don’t come out the ‘other side’ all back to normal and chipper. What I’ve learned the past few months is it ebbs and flows and if you try to push it away it will hit you like a wave!

Each day there is a reminder of this being that has shared your life and love. The hardest part has been what we call “The first of’s”. Our first road trip up north and looking in my side mirror to discover Kona’s head wasn’t sticking out in the wind. When we arrived at the cottage which we frequented so much the previous summer his absence was so palpable. I made my way to the doc, where we would all sit and just spoke to him through slow tears. Out of the corner of my eye I caught movement in the water, it was a little turtle swimming – I had never seen oneΒ here before, the current is usually pretty strong.

Could it mean something? I performed a very basic search on what turtles symbolize and came across the following:

If Turtle has crossed your path

“Don’t be tempted to skip steps and take short cuts. You will get there! Just trust in the process and stay in the moment.”

I’d like to think this was Kona telling me not to push myself through the process and to take it one step at a time.

Sunset before the bugging hour #cottage #ontario #Kona #dogs #love

A post shared by @agentlamb on

